Insert Needles Here, and Here, and Here…

Standard

Needle phobes beware!

A traditional Chinese medicine known as acupuncture has been helping many people around the world for years, but would you try it?  Why or why not?

According to the Mayo Clinic, acupuncture helps rebalance your energy, or Qi (chee) by inserting extremely thin needles into specific places on the body. The needles help boost your blood flow and produce natural painkillers.

Acupuncture has been used to help people for a number of reasons.  Some of them include the following:

There are many more reasons that people seek acupuncture. As you can see from the short list above, acupuncture has helped people’s problems with body image, starting families, internal systems, skin problems, pain relief, and peace of mind.

Now, the question you’ve been asking this whole time: does it hurt?  I wish I could say that I have experienced this versatile treatment myself, but I have note.  Kathleen Port from Los Angeles, California practices acupuncture.  In this short video she walks you though exactly what to expect during a treatment.

 

And for the second question you’ve been thinking this whole time: Can I afford this?  After calling a local provider, Acupuncture Cincinnati, the answer is yes! The person I spoke to on the phone said a typical treatment is $70, which lasts about one hour to 75 minutes. Of course, there are many other locations in the tri-state area which you can look into.  Acupuncture Cincinnati was the first to show up in my search results.

So what do you think?  Would you give it a try?

4 responses »

  1. Yes I would try. I know first hand from mothers illnesses, this treatment can be quite beneficial!! Even traditional medicine is finally recognizing holistic medicine as well as ancient traditional medicine.

  2. Oh gosh! I’m not sure if this would be for me or not. I understand, from the video, that this helps with stress (which as a college student I greatly appreciate); however I am not sure if this would be the right form of meditation for me. I found that this health care is more than 4,000 years old (http://classicalacupunctureherbs.com/). Is it just now coming back during the new age movement? I know I haven’t tried it before!

    Great post! Very informative! Thanks for adding a place to get this done and the cost!

  3. Pingback: Embracing All Forms of Medicine « everywherealways

  4. Pingback: First Steps to Better Living « everywherealways

Leave a Reply

