Five Tibetans: Stretched in Less than 10 Minutes

Standard

With our busy lifestyles it can be difficult to find the time to stay in shape or at the very least stretch our muscles. In the morning I have trouble finding the time to properly floss let alone find time to make it to the gym before work; however, I still want to feel good about myself. It wasn’t until I found out about  the Five Tibetans that I started waking up just 10 minutes early to create a whole new reenergized me.

Though I am involved in various exercise programs, such as Zumba, I still yearned for a fresh start to my day and a healthier lifestyle (not just regarding my eating habits). The Five Tibetans helped me do this. I don’t just recommend you take my word for it, I recommend you give it a try yourself.

Here are some concepts I looked at before choosing to routinely partake in the practice of the Five Tibetans:

I wanted to know…

What is the Five Tibetans?

It was incredible to learn that the Five Tibetans date back to 1939. It was founded by Peter Kelder who wrote a book called “The Original Five Tibetan Rites of Rejuvenation.” In this book, Peter gave five rites to rejuvenation (with a sixth rite added later). Since the Tibetans deem twenty-one as a mystical and perfect number, Peter has each rite repeated twently-one times. (It is recommended that one starts at a lower repetition and works their way to the full twenty-one.)

I personally chose to start off doing each rite five times. After a week I was doing each rite twenty-one times. I even timed it. It took me approximately eight minutes to finish the original five rites. When adding the sixth rite, It took almost ten minutes.

What are the five rites?

  1. Spinning
  2. Head and Leg Raises
  3. Camel
  4. Tabletop
  5. Upward and Downward Dog
  6. *Deep Breathing

Take a look at the rites in action:

Give it a try! Let me know how you feel after practicing the Five Tibetans.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Five Tibetan Rites | Self-development with meditation

Leave a Reply

