Have you checked YOUR chakras lately?


No, a chakra isn’t a part of your car that needs a yearly upgrade. Your chakras are focal point centers located on different areas of the body. The layers of energy that radiate through the chakras create a fan like vortex transmit vibrations full of energy to various organs and other parts of the body. The idea of  a chakra originated in Buddhism and Hinduism where the meaning of the word was a turning wheel. Chakra is pronounced here. Auras are commonly associated with how weak and strong a persons chakras are. Indian medicine used this word to explain vortices of energy that exist in living things. There are 7 chakras all located on a persons spine so that the major nerve branches can help energy flow from the top of the head to the base of the spine. Chakra is studied by many philosophical, therapeutic rituals, disciplines  and spiritual traditions using a variety of different versions and focal points. The chakra is sometimes compared to a flower with petals or spokes that can branch out and give oxygen (or energy) or other parts of the body.

When a person chakras are all vibrating at an equal rate one is suposed to be experincing optimal health internally and externally. Each chakra has a place on the body and purpose, color and symbol. They are as follows:

The Root Chakra (Muladhara): The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and helps a person feel connected and grounded with the world around them. Your passion and feeling of stability and survival can all be effected by a weak root chakra.

The Sacral Chakra (Sawdhisthana):Ones emotions and sexuality are controlled by the sacral chakra. A strong sacral chakra can make someone open, confident and have a large imagination.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Sometimes called the naval chakra due to its positon this chakra deals with a persons fulfillment in your career and being able to enjoy and live life with a full voice. Being timid and afraid of social situations can be the result of a weak chakra.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata): Like its name and position the heart chakra helps people with their ability to love, forgive and show affection. Being cold and distant is a sign of a weak heart chakra.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): The throat chakra helps one with their communication and self-expression. This helps one socially and ensures an extroverted personality when strong.

The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): A persons insight, intuition and visualization abilities are helped by the third eye chakra. With a weak or closed third eye, you may be the type of person who relies on others to think for them, or have a rigid personality.

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): The crown chakra deals with your spirituality and connection to the world. Fearing the unknown and lacking faith or hope are signs of weak or closed crown chakras.

While it is important for  health reasons for these chakras to be open and thriving, it is possible for your chakras to be considered too strong, resulting in being overly emotionally (sacral chakra) or a bad listener, for example (throat chakra).

If you find that some of you chakras are weak or closed, there are ways to open them. There are even products sold like candles, gems and teas that claim to help you with this process.

Believing that these energy vortexes exist and striving to keep them open will result in a harmony and balance in the mind and body, which will then result in a more holistic you!

Try this 5 minute chakra balancing exercise!

10 responses »

  1. Pingback: Halo « tinmaddog

  2. Pingback: Numerology Charts, Intuitive Art « Feather Story

  3. Pingback: A Fresh Look at Illness and Death « Anne On Fire

  4. Pingback: Anahata Chakra: the Unstruck Chord « The Balanced Soul

  5. Pingback: Why holistic? | Holistic me

  6. Pingback: What Is Reiki? « everywherealways

  7. Pingback: Why Reiki? « everywherealways

  8. Pingback: Vishuddha Chakra: Speak Your Truth « The Balanced Soul

  9. Pingback: On discovering chakras and the Daily Love | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s