Sea Shepard

Standard

When I was a little girl, I was so excited to learn that I was headed to Sea World. I couldn’t wait to visit all of the fun aquariums and see the shows. Little did I know, many of the shows and aquariums were not the original home for the mammals, animals and amphibians. Then I had a harder pill to swallow…I also learned that even if they were in their natural habit…they weren’t free.

Now that my childhood dream of being a whale trainer is broken, I can explain why I became a Sea Shepherd and why you will, too.

“Established in 1977, Sea Shepherd Conservation Society (SSCS) is an international non-profit, marine wildlife conservation organization. Our mission is to end the destruction of habitat and slaughter of wildlife in the world’s oceans in order to conserve and protect ecosystems and species.”

As a Sea Shepherd, we “innovative direct-action tactics to investigate, document, and take action when necessary to expose and confront illegal activities on the high seas. By safeguarding the biodiversity of our delicately-balanced ocean ecosystems, Sea Shepherd works to ensure their survival for future generations”

The Sea Shepherds come together in an attempt to protect and serve the animals of the sea.

Many campaigns have been launched to save the animals in the sea. Some have created  videos that are to catch your attention and show you the harm that is being done. Warning: This video contains content that is hard to watch. This video was put together to showcase the sadness associated with the killing of seals.

So, what do you do? Join the resistance. Become a Sea Shepard today.

 

One response »

  1. Like you, I used to go to Sea World as a child. As I got older though it seemed horribly unnatural to keep an orca whale in a tiny pool for the rest of its life, and Sea World became less attractive to me. Watching The Cove was the final straw, and I now no longer support any place that holds marine mammals captive. The Cove also touches on the ineffectiveness of the IWC (International Whaling Commission) to protect cetaceans. It’s great to see Sea Shepard out there enforcing the limited protections these animals are given.

Leave a Reply

