How Is Reiki Performed?


Reiki therapy is performed with the receiver laying on a massage table or sitting in a chair. The person receiving Reiki therapy simply lays or sits during the therapy, while the healing practitioner transmits universal life force energy to the receiver. Essential oils (i.e., aromatherapy) or crystals can easily be incorporated into Reiki therapy to strengthen the healing energy. During the Reiki therapy session, the Reiki healing energy is directed to the appropriate areas, including both the physical bodily symptoms (i.e., headache), as well as the deeper-rooted causes (e.g., stress or trauma) that often exist within the spiritual, mental, and emotional levels. For example, the physical bodily symptom could be a headache, but the deeper-rooted cause could be stress from work-life balance or trauma from a recent death in the family. As a holistic health and New Age treatment, Reiki would aid in both the releasing of the pain and tension, as well as resolve the stressful or traumatic situation. In addition, some receivers feel Reiki through warmth or heat, while others feel it as energy or movement. This is due to the fact that energy transfer causes the temperature to rise at the molecular level and atoms to increase their vibration, in turn causing whole atoms to move which creates the feeling of both warmth and movement. After receiving Reiki therapy, many individuals will sleep well that evening, as the Reiki healing energy will stay with these individuals throughout the night and continue to heal their bodies, minds, and spirits. Many individuals notice the most change from Reiki therapy, the following morning. Reiki therapy can help adults, children, and even animals. Moreover, since the channel, or healing practitioner, is not working with his/her own energy, they do not undergo energy drainage; but also experience energy movement and balance illustrating that Reiki therapy benefits everyone or everything involved.

Furthermore, Reiki is practiced in various forms, and by unique and different individual healing practitioners. However, to be a true Reiki practitioner one must have received an attunement, as one has to learn which Reiki symbols (e.g., Cho Ku Rei, Sei He Ki, Hon Sha Ze Sho Nen) to use, when to call up the universal life force energy, and how to heal a spiritual, mental, physical, and/or emotional ailment. There are three levels of attunement: Reiki Level 1 –Teaches the basic understandings of Reiki to perform with others or for oneself; Reiki Level 2 –Teaches the three Reiki symbols and their uses; Reiki Master/Teacher (Level 3) –Teaches the final symbols, how to perform classes and attunement for others/students, and how to start your own Reiki practice.

Reiki Attunement Video: 


One response »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s