Why Reiki?

Standard

I have to admit after reading about Reiki I quickly started to analyze what healing energy “felt” like, if it could in fact help my spiritual, mental, physical, or emotional ailments. To further frame my inquiry, I asked friends and family members what they thought about Reiki as a New Age treatment, only to be met with more questions. I realized that I was not alone in my exploration, and that queries about Reiki have even been discussed on mainstream television shows including The Dr. Oz Show. Dr. Oz  discusses New Age treatments such as Reiki, holistic diets, acupuncture, and the 5 Tibetan Rites  in which balance your chakra, meridians, and aura, as well as revitalize your energy and heal ailments. So, before letting skepticism get the best of me, I sought to truly understand Reiki by experiencing it firsthand. I attended the Victory of Light Expo in Cincinnati, Ohio, in which I participated in an universal life force energy seminar and met various Masters/Teachers of Reiki. This is where I obtained the information that many Reiki healing practitioners believe that the universe is full of energy, which currently cannot be detected by any scientific instruments, but can be felt by individual receivers and administered by healing practitioners. I also personally experienced Reiki therapy including the use of essential oils (i.e., aromatherapy) and crystals to clear blockages, in order to rebalance my chakra, meridians, and aura, as well as heal spiritual, mental, physical, and emotional ailments. I went into this venture with a critical and even skeptical mindset, but was extremely shocked at how the Reiki healing practitioner knew the exact places on my body that I was experiencing stress and pain (since as a true skeptic I said nothing about pain or stress prior to laying down on the massage table), and how surprised I was that I could feel the healing energy in both warmth and movement. I was not the only individual inquiring about Reiki therapy or experiencing the healing energy, as there were many others at the Victory of Light Expo receiving Reiki therapy. After these aforementioned emprise, it was apparent that living in pain, whether that be emotional stress or physical pain, is not at all easy and can make individuals extremely unhappy, as they are unable to enjoy life or live life to the fullest. Reiki therapy can assist in stress reduction, relaxation, healing of pain or trauma for ailments such as depression, anxiety, acute and chronic pain, and stress. There are various testimonials that describe how Reiki aided in individual’s medically unexplained physical symptoms (MUPS) and medically unexplained symptoms (MUS). Examples of MUPS and MUS include irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), unexplained headaches, unexplained back pain, anxiety, depression, and acute and chronic pain.

We should realize that there are no side effects (i.e., headaches), risk (i.e., death), or restrictions (i.e., age) for receiving Reiki like there are in the medications we take, the surgeries we receive, or the procedures we have performed in Western Medicine in the attempt to feel better and be healthy. Also demonstrating that there is little to lose and a great deal to gain (e.g., happiness, a healthy life, more energy, and balance) through the experience of Reiki. This does not mean that we discontinue visiting medical professionals. It simply means that if there is a way to be a more balanced, happy, and healthy individual we should embrace the method that supplies us this opportunity. Those who are in pain, stressed, unhappy, or ill should seek out a Reiki healing practitioner to receive Reiki therapy. For those of you who are skeptics, I was one of you until I was a receiver of Reiki therapy. So before letting skepticism get the best of you, try Reiki as this experience will pivot your perspective of both Eastern Alternative Medicine, as well as provide a more balanced and healthy outlook on life. After all what do you have to lose?

To Schedule A Reiki Therapy Appointment Visit: http://www.goodjourneys.net/SERVICES.html or

http://my.clevelandclinic.org/departments/integrativemedicine/reiki_therapy.aspx

Also, if you are in Cincinnati, listen to the Waves of the New Age, Tuesdays from 3-5pm on WAIF 88.3FM. 


Leave a Reply

